Swapping axle internals

General Chat About Drivetrain.

Moderators: phpBB2 - Administrators, Moderators

ihatesissycars

Swapping axle internals

Post by ihatesissycars »

Righteo then, i've just stripped down my 2.0 axle to start cleaning up and putting my lsd into.

Where shall i start!

I've spoken to Neil Crane Sheppard yonks ago ref this who has had luck with just swapping the lsd unit itself and checked the mesh to find its all good (using the 2.0 axles shim setup) and i'll be giving this a try first.

Now ref the bearings it makes sense to replace them whilst i'm in there so how do you get the buggers off the diff and pinion gear shaft? (yes i've never done this before. . . )

Gav

Coops
Site Admin & Owner
Site Admin & Owner
Location: Compton, Nr Newbury, Berkshire Drives: Supercharged 4.6 efi V8 Capri

Post by Coops »

good luck mate,
i will be doing the above soon too.
Regards Tony C (COOPS)
MS2 V3.57 Ecu mapable efi and wasted spark ignition.
Rotrex C38-91 supercharger and Cossie RS500 Intercooler @ 14psi of Boost.
Sponsored by: www.extraefi.co.uk & www.interpart.biz & www.caprisport.com
Web site: http://www.capriracing.co.uk

ihatesissycars

Post by ihatesissycars »

Yeah i'm gonna need some luck i think, it's not going to be easy i suspect.

ihatesissycars

Post by ihatesissycars »

Errrr just spoke to one of my old work buddies at a Ford dealer. He's set up ALOT of these axles should the mesh need adjusting and well, it aint easy and thats a massive understatment! Do-able if you have the correct tools and alot of patience! I'm really really hoping mine comes out ok when i stick the lsd in as it is. . . . .

This is what Neil Crane Sheppard said in an email a while back

"We use a 3.44 from a 2 litre on almost everything including V8 and Cosworth.
The 3.09 is way too high so the one you have is the answer.

Use the 2 litre axle and build the LSD unit into it. Obviously swap the brakes over as well.